Macroom is the principal town in the Mid-Cork region. The town derives it's name from the ancient name of Maigh Chromtha, meaning a crooked plane i.e. a tree or the plain of an ancient Druidic god called Crom.
The town developed around a castle built by the Carews during the reign of King John in the 12th century. This castle was later replaced by a more elaborate structure built by the Flynns who devised the Barony of Muscraighe UI Floinn or Muskerry of the Flynns.
Subsequently, the castle and its site became the property of Cormac MacCarthy and the town expanded in both length and breath on both sides of the lovely Sullane river. The MacCarthys became the Lords of Muskerry and bestowed upon Macroom a magnificent refurbished Castle House that was confiscated during Cromwellian times. Restored during the reign of Charles II and finally confisicated and sold, together with its 55,000 acre estate, to the Hollow Sword Blades Company in 1703. The castle was burnt for the fifth and final time in 1922 and its last owner, Lady Olivia Ardilaun, sold it in trust for the people of Macroom in 1924. The walls of the Castle House were knocked in 1967, leaving the ornate Castle Tower, a section of the stable wall and of course the magnificent Castle Gate entrance in the square, which leads to the Castle Demesne and its superb 18 hole golf course and leisure complex.
Macroom, while being very progressive, like its inhabitants, has retained its unique character. The public buildings are all built of a blend of sandstone and limestone and have attractive facades. Many of the houses and business premises have restored the old world stone walls and shop fronts. Tree planting, flower troughs, illumination of buildings and recently erected replicas of the castle at the entrance into the town are pleasing to both the residents and the many tourists that frequent the town throughout the year.
It is a town of two towns, Macroom and Masseytown. It has historical associations with Brian Boru, Archbishop Rinuccini, Cromwell and William Penn, Lady Ardilaun and Arthur Guinness, The Mountain Dew Festivals of the 1970's and the Country & Western Festival of the 1990's. The town of Bishop McEgan, An t-Athair Peadar O'Laoghaire, Peter Golden, T.C. Murray, The Bould Thady Quill, the Gearagh and stands at the heart of the beautiful Lee Valley.
It is no wonder then that Macroom is undoubtedly... 'The Town That Never Reared A Fool'.